Executive Faculty Council

The Executive Faculty Council (EFC) consists of the Cornell University president, the dean of Weill Cornell Medicine and provost for medical affairs of Cornell University, Weill Cornell Medicine’s associate deans and department chairs, and such other persons as may be designated by the president from time to time.

 The EFC, together with the General Faculty Council, has the duty to determine the entrance requirements for students; to prescribe and define courses of study for them; to determine the requirements for such degrees as are offered to students; to recommend to the Board of Overseers and university president candidates for degrees who have fulfilled the requirements therefore; to enact and enforce rules for the guidance and supervision of students in their academic work; and in general to exercise jurisdiction over the academic interests of students and all other educational matters at Weill Cornell Medicine.

The faculty councils also are key components in the flow of information between the faculty and the administration. Members of the two councils have the responsibility to bring information and concerns forward from their constituencies, as well as to serve as an information resource on policy and procedural questions emanating from the administration through the council review and approval process. In addition to the general review conducted by the full council, each council has from time to time established topic-specific committees to address key areas of concern to their membership.

The faculty councils may be reached through the Weill Cornell Office of the Secretary by email to secretary@med.cornell.edu or by phone at (212) 746-6010.

Executive Faculty Council Meeting dates 2019-2020

Leadership Group List: 

Executive Faculty Council 2019-2020

Sort By:
  • Stephen and Suzanne Weiss Dean and Provost for Medical Affairs
  • Executive Faculty Council Chair
Ronald D. Adelman, M.D.
  • Co-Director, Center for Aging Research and Clinical Care
David Artis, Ph.D.
  • Director, Jill Roberts Institute for Research in Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Charles L. Bardes, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Admissions)
David Christini, Ph.D.
  • Vice Dean, Graduate School
Ronald Crystal
Ronald G. Crystal, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Genetic Medicine
Donald J. D'Amico, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Ophthalmology
Olivier Elemento
Olivier Elemento, Ph.D.
  • Director, Englander Institute for Precision Medicine
Todd R. Evans, Ph.D.
Todd R. Evans, Ph.D.
  • Associate Dean (Research)
Oliver T. Fein, M.D.
Oliver T. Fein, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Affiliations)
Matthew E. Fink, M.D.
Matthew E. Fink, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Neurology
Daniel Fitzgerald
Daniel Fitzgerald, M.D.
  • Director, Center for Global Health
Silvia Formenti, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Radiation Oncology
Li Gan, Ph.D.
  • Director, Helen and Robert Appel Alzheimer's Disease Research Institute
Leonard N. Girardi, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery
Scott Goldsmith
Scott J. Goldsmith, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Continuing Medical Education)
Marc Goldstein, M.D., F.A.C.S.
  • Executive Director, Men's Service Center, Institute for Reproductive Medicine
Linnie Golightly
Linnie M. Golightly, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Diversity)
Richard D. Granstein, M.D.
Richard D. Granstein, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Dermatology
Lorraine J. Gudas, Ph.D.
Lorraine J. Gudas, Ph.D.
  • Chair, Department of Pharmacology
Katherine Hajjar
Katherine A. Hajjar, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Faculty Development)
Hugh Hemmings
Hugh C. Hemmings Jr., M.D., Ph.D.
  • Chair, Department of Anesthesiology
  • Senior Associate Dean (Research)
Dr. Barbara Hempstead
Barbara Hempstead, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Dean, Weill Cornell Graduate School of Medical Sciences
Anthony Hollenberg, MD
Anthony Hollenberg, M.D.
  • Chair, Weill Department of Medicine
Costantino Iadecola
Costantino Iadecola, M.D.
  • Director, Feil Family Brain and Mind Research Institute
Said Ibrahim, M.D.
  • Senior Associate Dean (Diversity and Inclusion)
Julianne Imperato-McGinley
Julianne Imperato-McGinley, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Translational Research & Education)
Yoon Kang, M.D.
  • Acting Senior Associate Dean (Education)
Rainu Kaushal, M.D., M.P.H.
  • Chair, Department of Healthcare Policy and Research
Bryan T. Kelly, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Sibel Akyol Klimstra, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Academic Affairs)
Mark S. Lachs, M.D., M.P.H.
  • Co-Director, Center for Aging Research and Clinical Care
Dr. Francis Lee
Francis Lee, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Chair, Department of Psychiatry
John P. Leonard, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Clinical Research)
Massimo Loda, M.D. headshot
Massimo Loda, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Gerald M. Loughlin, M.D., M.Sc.
  • Chair, Department of Pediatrics
Peter Marzuk
Peter M. Marzuk, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Curricular Affairs)
Frederick Maxfield
Frederick R. Maxfield, Ph.D.
  • Chair, Department of Biochemistry
Fabrizio Michelassi, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Surgery
James K. Min
James K. Min, M.D.
  • Director, Dalio Institute
Dr. Robert Min
Robert Min, MD, MBA
  • Chair, Department of Radiology
Carl F. Nathan, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Microbiology & Immunology
Virginia Pascual
Virginia Pascual, M.D.
  • Director, Drukier Institute for Children's Health
Geoffrey Pitt
Geoffrey S. Pitt, M.D.
  • Director, Cardiovascular Research Institute
Martha E. Pollack
  • President, Cornell University
Placeholder profile image
Shahin Rafii, M.D.
  • Director, Ansary Stem Cell Institute
Laura Riley, M.D.
Laura Riley, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
Zev Rosenwaks, M.D.
  • Executive Director, Women's Service Center, Institute for Reproductive Medicine
Jane Salmon, M.D.
Jane Salmon, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Faculty Affairs)
Peter N. Schlegel, M.D., F.A.C.S.
Peter N. Schlegel, M.D., F.A.C.S.
  • Chair, Department of Urology
  • Senior Associate Dean (Clinical Affairs)
Rahul Sharma, MD
Rahul Sharma, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine
Javaid I. Sheikh, M.D.
  • Dean, Weill Cornell Medicine-Qatar
Randi B. Silver, Ph.D.
  • Associate Dean, Graduate School
Rache Simmons
Rache Simmons, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Diversity)
Joel Stein, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Rehabilitation Medicine
Michael G. Stewart, M.D., M.P.H.
  • Vice Dean
  • Chair, Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
Philip E. Stieg, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Chair, Department of Neurological Surgery
Carol Storey-Johnson, M.D.
  • Senior Advisor, Medical Education
Adam R. Stracher, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Clinical Affairs)
Vivian Strong
Vivian E. Strong, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (MSKCC)
Stephen J. Thomas, M.D.
Stephen J. Thomas, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Billing Compliance)
Harel Weinstein, D.Sc.
  • Chair, Department of Physiology and Biophysics
Dana Zappetti, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Student Affairs)