Executive Faculty Council

The Executive Faculty Council (EFC) consists of the Cornell University president, the dean of Weill Cornell Medicine and provost for medical affairs of Cornell University, Weill Cornell Medicine’s associate deans and department chairs, and such other persons as may be designated by the president from time to time.

The EFC, together with the General Faculty Council, has the duty to determine the entrance requirements for students; to prescribe and define courses of study for them; to determine the requirements for such degrees as are offered to students; to recommend to the Board of Fellows and university president candidates for degrees who have fulfilled the requirements therefore; to enact and enforce rules for the guidance and supervision of students in their academic work; and in general to exercise jurisdiction over the academic interests of students and all other educational matters at Weill Cornell Medicine.

The faculty councils also are key components in the flow of information between the faculty and the administration. Members of the two councils have the responsibility to bring information and concerns forward from their constituencies, as well as to serve as an information resource on policy and procedural questions emanating from the administration through the council review and approval process. In addition to the general review conducted by the full council, each council has from time to time established topic-specific committees to address key areas of concern to their membership.

The faculty councils may be reached through the Weill Cornell Office of the Secretary by email to secretary@med.cornell.edu or by phone at (212) 746-6010.

Executive Faculty Council Meeting Dates

Leadership Group List: 

Executive Faculty Council 2023-24

Sort By:
  • Dean and Provost for Medical Affairs
  • Executive Faculty Council Chair
Ronald D. Adelman, M.D.
  • Co-Director, Center for Aging Research and Clinical Care
David Artis, Ph.D.
  • Director, Jill Roberts Institute for Research in Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Michael Berlin
Michael Berlin, M.D.
  • Affiliate Dean (Cayuga MCI)
Timothy Boone
Timothy Boone, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Affiliate Dean (HMH)
Dr. Susan Bostwick
Susan Bostwick, M.D., M.B.A.
  • Associate Dean (Affiliations)
Dr. Olga Boudker
Olga Boudker, Ph.D.
  • Interim Chair, Department of Physiology and Biophysics
Julie Boyer
Julie Boyer, Ph.D.
  • Associate Dean (Research)
Lola Brown
Lola Brown, Ph.D.
  • Associate Dean (Research)
Dr. Salvatore Cilmi
Salvatore A. Cilmi, M.D.
  • Associate Dean, Academic Affairs
Placeholder profile image
Joseph T. Cooke, M.D.
  • Interim Affiliate Dean (NYP Queens)
Ronald Crystal
Ronald G. Crystal, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Genetic Medicine
Donald J. D'Amico, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Ophthalmology
Olivier Elemento
Olivier Elemento, Ph.D.
  • Director, Englander Institute for Precision Medicine
Todd R. Evans, Ph.D.
Todd R. Evans, Ph.D.
  • Associate Dean (Research)
Matthew E. Fink, M.D.
Matthew E. Fink, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Neurology
Daniel Fitzgerald
Daniel Fitzgerald, M.D.
  • Director, Center for Global Health
Dr. Silvia Formenti
Silvia Formenti, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Radiation Oncology
Li Gan, Ph.D.
  • Director, Helen and Robert Appel Alzheimer's Disease Research Institute
Leonard N. Girardi, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery
Scott Goldsmith
Scott J. Goldsmith, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Continuing Medical Education)
Marc Goldstein
Marc Goldstein, M.D., F.A.C.S.
  • Executive Director, Men's Service Center, Institute for Reproductive Medicine
Linnie Golightly
Linnie M. Golightly, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Diversity)
Richard D. Granstein, M.D.
Richard D. Granstein, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Dermatology
Lorraine J. Gudas, Ph.D.
Lorraine J. Gudas, Ph.D.
  • Chair, Department of Pharmacology
Katherine Hajjar
Katherine A. Hajjar, M.D.
  • Senior Associate Dean (Faculty)
Hugh Hemmings
Hugh C. Hemmings Jr., M.D., Ph.D.
  • Chair, Department of Anesthesiology
  • Senior Associate Dean (Research)
Dr. Barbara Hempstead
Barbara Hempstead, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Dean, Weill Cornell Graduate School of Medical Sciences
Kevin Holcomb, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Admissions), Medical College
Costantino Iadecola
Costantino Iadecola, M.D.
  • Director, Feil Family Brain and Mind Research Institute
Julianne Imperato-McGinley
Julianne Imperato-McGinley, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Translational Research & Education)
Yoon Kang, M.D.
Yoon Kang, M.D.
  • Senior Associate Dean (Education), Medical College
Rainu Kaushal, M.D., M.P.H.
Rainu Kaushal, M.D., M.P.H.
  • Chair, Department of Population Health Sciences
Bryan T. Kelly, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Szilárd Kiss, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Clinical Compliance)
Mark S. Lachs, M.D., M.P.H.
  • Co-Director, Center for Aging Research and Clinical Care
Dolores Lamb
Dolores J. Lamb, PhD
  • Associate Dean (Faculty Affairs)
joseph lane
Joseph Lane, M.D.
  • Affiliate Dean (HSS)
Dr. Keith LaScalea
Keith LaScalea, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Student Affairs and Student Life)
Dr. John Leonard
John P. Leonard, M.D.
  • Interim Chair of the Department of Medicine
  • Senior Associate Dean (Innovation and Initiatives)
Massimo Loda, M.D. headshot
Massimo Loda, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Placeholder profile image
Lewis W. Marshall, Jr., M.D.
  • Affiliate Dean (Lincoln Hospital)
Peter Marzuk
Peter M. Marzuk, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Education), Medical College
Dr. Geraldine McGinty
Geraldine McGinty, M.D., M.B.A.
  • Senior Associate Dean (Clinical Affairs)
Fabrizio Michelassi, M.D.
Fabrizio Michelassi, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Surgery
Dr. Robert Min
Robert Min, M.D., M.B.A.
  • Chair, Department of Radiology
Carl F. Nathan, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Microbiology & Immunology
Virginia Pascual
Virginia Pascual, M.D.
  • Director, Drukier Institute for Children's Health
Sallie Permar, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Chair, Department of Pediatrics
Stephen Peterson
Stephen Peterson, M.D.
  • Affiliate Dean (NYP Brooklyn)
Geoffrey Pitt
Geoffrey S. Pitt, M.D.
  • Director, Cardiovascular Research Institute
President Martha Pollack
Martha E. Pollack
  • President, Cornell University
Shahin Rafii headshot
Shahin Rafii, M.D.
  • Director, Ansary Stem Cell Institute
Anjali M Rajadhyaksha, Ph.D.
Anjali M. Rajadhyaksha, Ph.D.
  • Associate Dean (Program Development), Graduate School
Rajiv Ratan
Rajiv R. Ratan, M.D.
  • Affiliate Dean (Burke MRI)
Laura Riley, M.D.
Laura Riley, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
Dr. Larissa Rodriguez
Larissa Rodríguez, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Urology
Zev Rosenwaks, M.D.
  • Executive Director, Women's Service Center, Institute for Reproductive Medicine
Joseph Safdieh
Joseph Safdieh, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Curricular Affairs)
M Safford
Monika M. Safford, MD
  • WCM Co-Director, Cornell Center for Health Equity
Jane Salmon, M.D.
Jane Salmon, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Faculty Affairs)
Rahul Sharma, MD
Rahul Sharma, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine
Javaid I. Sheikh, M.D.
  • Dean, Weill Cornell Medicine-Qatar
Randi Silver
Randi B. Silver, Ph.D.
  • Associate Dean, Graduate School
Rache Simmons
Rache Simmons, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Diversity)
Joel Stein, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Rehabilitation Medicine
Michael G. Stewart, M.D., M.P.H.
  • Chair, Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
  • Senior Associate Dean (International Affairs and Affiliations)
Philip E. Stieg, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Chair, Department of Neurological Surgery
Adam R. Stracher, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Clinical Affairs)
Dr. Heidi Stuhlmann
Heidi Stuhlmann, Ph.D.
  • Interim Chair, Department of Biochemistry
Vivian Strong
Vivian E. Strong, M.D.
  • Affiliate Dean (MSKCC)
Judy Tung
Judy Tung, M.D.
  • Associate Dean (Faculty Development)
Dr. Jedd Wolchok
Jedd Wolchok, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Director, Meyer Cancer Center