Standards message here

Two Faculty Members Newly Inducted into National Academy of Medicine

The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) has elected 80 new members, two of whom are Tri-Institutional MD-PhD Program affiliated faculty members. The NAM website states, "Election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service."

The two faculty members newly inducted to the National Academy of Medicine are:
Cornelia Isabella Bargmann, Ph.D., Rockefeller University; and Viviane Tabar, MD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center.

Dr. Cornelia ("Cori") Bargmann is the Torsten N. Wiesel Professor at The Rockefeller University, and heads the Lulu and Anthony Wang Laboratory of Neural Circuits and Behavior at The Rockefeller University. Dr. Bargmann studies the relationship between genes, neural circuits, and behavior in C. elegans. In addition to her professorial role, Dr. Bargmann also serves as the president of science for the Chan Zuckerberg Initiative.

Dr. Viviane Tabar is the Vice Chair in Research and Education and the Theresa Feng Chair in Neurosurgical Oncology at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. As a neurosurgeon and stem cell biologist, Dr. Tabar cares for patients with primary brain tumors, meningiomas and chordomas, tumors of the pituitary gland, and brain metastases. Dr. Tabar also specializes in “mapping” the brain during surgery to identify the regions that control language, movement, and memory, which allows her to remove tumors more precisely while sparing as much tissue as possible near these important areas.

Congratulations to the our faculty members in their induction to the National Academy of Medicine! To read more about the NAM, please click here.

© 2006 Tri-Institutional MD-PhD Program