Installing Automated Security Updates
Q: How do I know when updates have been sent to my machine?
A: Much like the current method of automatic virus definition updates, SCCM allows ITS to deploy security updates seamlessly and to minimize the interruption to normal computing operations. Users will receive an initial notification when the updates are ready for installation. Additional notifications will be provided if updates are not installed after the first notification is sent.
- Once updates have been deployed to a user's desktop, the user will receive the following message:
- To install the updates, double-click on the message. A window will appear providing you with the option to install the updates as "Express" (recommended) or "Custom" (for advanced options). When a user selects "Custom," the Available Software Updates window will appear. From this window, users will be able to view updates being installed and/or schedule an time to install the updates.
- If the user chooses to schedule the updates at a specific time, click on 'Schedule Installation' in the Available Software Updates window. Place a check mark next to "Install required updates on a schedule." Once enabled, a user can specify when updates are installed on your machine. Note: To minimize the impact to your normal operations, set the update installation time close to or at the end of the chosen day.
- If you do not see the notifications, you may double-click on the SCCM icon and choose the appropriate installation, "Express" (recommended) or "Custom" (for advanced options). (Refer to step 2.)
- For Windows 2000 and XP machines that have SCCM installed, the updates are sent out during the second week of the month. Users have one week to manually install these updates. If it is not installed within the week, the updates will automatically install on the third Sunday of the month after 5PM.
If your machine is shut down during the weekend that the updates are being installed, they will automatically install the next time you power on your machine. Please be aware that after the installation, your machine may automatically be restarted.
- After the updates installation, you will be presented with a window to restart your machine. The system provides users 24 hours to manually reboot their machine before it is automatically restarted.